Trending March 2024 # Hostgator Review 2023: Performance And Speed Tests # Suggested April 2024 # Top 3 Popular

You are reading the article Hostgator Review 2023: Performance And Speed Tests updated in March 2024 on the website Cancandonuts.com. We hope that the information we have shared is helpful to you. If you find the content interesting and meaningful, please share it with your friends and continue to follow and support us for the latest updates. Suggested April 2024 Hostgator Review 2023: Performance And Speed Tests

Over the course of a few weeks we took the time to push this web host to its very limits and see just what it has to offer that makes it stand out above the rest. We hope that this HostGator review provides you with the information you need to make an educated decision.

In a snapshot What HostGator Offers

As one of the world’s oldest surviving hosting platforms, we expected no less than a plethora of various offers. Among them are shared hosting, cloud hosting, WordPress-centric hosting, reseller packages, virtual private servers, dedicated servers, and domain names.

What We’re Reviewing

For this particular Hostgator review, we ordered the top-tier shared hosting service for businesses. People who want the best possible level of service for their websites will presumably be using this service, and we wanted to test all the bells and whistles that HostGator offers. We’ll try to make this review short and sweet and just get to the gist of everything without bombarding you with walls of text.

Pricing and Offering

But HostGator takes this just a tad further by compartmentalizing “extras” that are thrown in for a certain fee. Want email? You’re going to have to add $5 per month. How about automated backups? That’ll be $23.95 per year (~$2/month). SEO tools? $35.40 per year. SSL, thankfully, is free. These extras will cost you money regardless of what plan you choose, so business users can expect none of these fees to be waived.

There are three plans:

These may not be the highest prices we’ve ever seen for shared hosting, but they’re far from the cheapest. The question here is, “Does HostGator provide a level of service that justifies its price?”

Speed and Reliability

Uptime and speed are both some of the most crucial deciding factors that could make or break your visitors’ confidence in your site. If it takes longer than five seconds to load a page, barring issues that the visitor’s own ISP or system has, this could definitely stir them away to other sites. The Internet world is far more competitive than it was in the 90s when loading an image took about as long as your coffee break.

To provide a comprehensive analysis of how our website performs in real-world situations under HostGator, we decided to run a small battery of tests. The following are our results.

Bitcatcha (load time)

Despite complaints that we’ve seen on various forums about slow response times, we noticed that our website was loading at slightly above average. The below image shows our results.

We’ll choose to ignore the “C+” since ratings like these are kind of arbitrary. The results aren’t abysmal, but getting a 434 ms response time in one of the countries with the best Internet services records in the Asia-Pacific region isn’t something to boast about. Response times from Europe or Asia were a bit on laggy end. Let’s try this again.

An “A” this time, and the only thing that changed significantly was the response time from Bangalore. See why we chose to ignore the previous “C+?” Third time’s a charm!

Yet another improvement in Bangalore, a significant improvement in Singapore, and nothing much else. Response times are pretty average for a decent web host. There’s nothing that stands out here, good or bad.

Pingdom (load time)

A website’s ping response says little, if anything, about how long it takes to load a page from top to bottom. We’re going to load up our website with a bunch of high-resolution photos and scripts (we included a lot more of these than a normal website would expect to have) to see how this works out on a pingdom test. We chose Sweden as the requesting server’s location to provide the most masochistic test possible.

2.17 seconds is not bad. Let’s try that again.

This time it was just a little bit slower at 2.27 seconds, but still not bad at all. Now, it’s time for the final test.

Sweden’s Internet traffic gets rowdy at around 4 PM, which is around the hour that we did these tests. The US is just starting to wake up in the morning; therefore peering should be an issue. We’re assuming that HostGator’s data centers are all located in the United States, judging by our ping results, so these load times are actually quite impressive.

Our Own Handcrafted Test (Upload/Download)

Load times are nothing short of decent from what we’ve seen, but no one wants to upload a website backup or any other large file to the server only to find themselves in the middle of an arduous process that takes eons. How fast does HostGator download from its users? For this we have set up our own test server to upload from, complete with a tried-and-true 1 gigabit connection. We will be uploading a 543-megabyte audio file to the server through WinSCP to see what our average speed is.

Our first upload of the file averaged 200 Mbits per second, though it started to drop off after a few seconds. The minimum bandwidth we experienced was 140 Mbits per second.

Our second upload of the file averaged a painstaking 15 Mbits per second, making us suspect that we may have been throttled. The upload sometimes dropped down to below 10 Mbits per second. It’s still a respectable speed but a far cry from the ability to upload large files in seconds. While it took 30-or-so seconds to upload the file the first time, we had to wait an entire three minutes this time around. Let’s try it again with a fie-minute delay and logging into our FTP server again.

Once again, our third upload averaged at the comfortable breakneck speed of 200 Mbits per second. It seems that waiting a few minutes and logging in again did the trick!

Support

Regarding the level of support, we decided to test it out in the spirit of thoroughness. We “played stupid” and contacted support via live chat with a few common questions about FTP access and WordPress setup and were pleasantly surprised to be connected with someone within fifteen seconds of submitting our ticket on a Saturday. Vivian (the name given to our support specialist) was lovely and courteous, albeit slow with her responses, perhaps because she was also dealing with other customers at the same time.

Our Experience

Our very quick rundown of what we experienced when using HostGator’s services is, “That was fast.” It took us a total of fifteen minutes to get a website up and running on WordPress, including the amount of time it took to set up a few plugins that took lots of liberties with jQuery and other more modern Java-based scripts. While we have nothing out of the ordinary to report, we do have to laud HostGator on its cPanel system which reduced the installation process down to a five-second ordeal after typing in some admin credentials and a site name.

This is by far one of the easiest times we had setting up a website.

When we looked at customer reviews from 2024 onwards, we saw that slowdowns and unreliable support were among the most common complaints. HostGator seems to have overcome all of these hurdles in 2023. Although its speed doesn’t impress us, it certainly didn’t disappoint. For a three-year commitment at $5.95 for the VIP treatment of a business subscription, it’s hard to point out any strongly negative experiences with HostGator.

Our Summary

All in all, it seems that HostGator has taken extra steps to prove that it’s a worthwhile service for people who take their websites seriously. Though prices are a bit hefty, the speed and level of service that the hosting provider offers don’t provide any significant disappointment. We are sure, however, that there are less pricey hosts that offer a similar product.

Pros

Speed has significantly improved, though it remains to be seen whether this improvement is only a temporary response to complaints.

Support seems easy enough to navigate, and representatives are patient and courteous.

If you’re not happy with your service within forty-five days, you can get your money back (as long as you paid with a debit card or PayPal).

An EV SSL certificate for the business plan is a major plus, especially when you’re in e-commerce.

It’s surprisingly easy to set up a website, even if you’re still not used to this “Internet” thing all the kids talk about.

Cons

The extra price tag for a simple email service is utterly disappointing, to say the least.

It actually costs money to have the platform press the “Backup” button for you periodically ($2/month). A service they provide free, manually, costs money to do automatically, which means you’re paying $2/month for something you could do with a “cron” script in UNIX. That’s just silly.

FTP is not encrypted, making you vulnerable to MiTM attacks.

Even with just basic service, you could find more competitive prices with similar (if not better) quality.

Peering to Europe or Asia is pretty lame but not the worst.

Help Is Always Welcome!

Hostgator

Make Tech Easier may earn commission on products purchased through our links, which supports the work we do for our readers.

Miguel Leiva-Gomez

Miguel has been a business growth and technology expert for more than a decade and has written software for even longer. From his little castle in Romania, he presents cold and analytical perspectives to things that affect the tech world.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

Sign up for all newsletters.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You're reading Hostgator Review 2023: Performance And Speed Tests

Realme 2 Pro Performance And Gaming Review: Fast And Fluid

The Realme 2 Pro (starting at Rs. 13,990) is the latest offering from Realme’s smartphone line-up, and the company has put in a considerable amount of effort to market the Realme 2 Pro as a competent smartphone which can justify the ‘Pro’ suffix. The Realme 2 Pro packs the Snapdragon 660 SoC with up to 8 gigs of RAM, which are some solid specs for a budget smartphone these days, and it does not disappoint.

The Snapdragon 660 powers the Xiaomi Mi A2 and the Vivo V11 Pro, both of which fared well on the performance parameter, but has Realme done a commendable job at optimizing the Snapdragon 660’s processing grunt with ColorOS 5.2? Well, there is only one way to find out- subjecting the device to an intensive gaming and performance test.

Realme 2 Pro Specifications:

Display 6.3-inch FHD+with 90.8% screen-to-body

ProcessorSnapdragon 660

RAM4/6/8 GB RAM

Storage 64/128 GB, expandable upto 256GB via microSD card

Rear Camera16MP + 2MP

Front Camera16MP

Battery 3,500mAh

OSColorOS 5.2 based on Android 8.1 Oreo

Connectivity GSM, WCDMA, LTE, GPRS, EDGE

Sensors Light & distance sensor, acceleration sensor, gyroscope, geomagnetic sensor

Realme 2 Pro Performance and Gaming Review

Before we start going through synthetic benchmark figures and give a final verdict about the Realme 2 Pro’s overall performance, do keep in mind that synthetic benchmarks are just numbers and do not reflect actual prowess of a smartphone. This is why we prefer to do an exhaustive test based on in-hand performance and practical usage scenarios, and this is what we are going to do in the Realme 2 Pro’s case.

Moreover, we’ll also compare the Realme 2 Pro’s synthetic benchmark scores and real-life performance with two other which pack the same processor to give you a better idea. So, let’s begin with the Realme 2 Pro’s benchmarks first.

Realme 2 Pro Benchmarks

We started the Realme 2 Pro’s benchmark test with AnTuTu, and the device didn’t disappoint, scoring an impressive 133324 points, which is in line with other devices packing the same Snapdragon 660 SoC. However, the Realme 2 Pro performed slightly better than its rivals, the Xiaomi Mi A2 and the Redmi Note 5 Pro, all thanks to the 8GB of RAM which give it a slight edge.

Coming to the more graphics intensive 3DMark benchmark, the Realme 2 Pro scored 1235 points in 3DMark’s Sling Shot Extreme – OpenGL ES test and 975 points in the 3DMark’s Sling Shot Extreme – Vulkan.

Gaming Performance

When it comes to real-life performance, the Realme 2 Pro is a fairly great performer. We put the Realme 2 Pro through a host of games ranging from lightweight titles like Angry Birds, 8 Ball Pool and Subway Surfer to graphics intensive games such as PUBG, Asphalt 9: Legends, Injustice 2 and Mortal Kombat X.

However, tweaking the graphics settings to the maximum permissible limit in some games resulted in sporadic stuttering and occasional lags. But then, for high-end mobile games which are made for flagship chipsets, the mid-range Snapdragon 660 can only serve you long enough. Here’s how Realme 2 Pro fared at gaming:

I started the Realme 2 Pro’s gaming review with PUBG, and to put it simply, the gameplay was above par. The battle royale game was to the default graphics setting on the first boot, and as I completed a few matches, I noticed that there was no lag, frame drop or stuttering at all.

The next game I tried was ‘Injustice 2’, and truth be told, I was again surprised at how well the fight game played out on the Realme 2 Pro. The device rendered the animations smoothly, and the cinematic visuals between the fights smoothly transitioned back to the combat without a hitch.

In the case of Asphalt 9: Legends, there was some stutter and noticeable frame drop, especially while driving supercars at high speed and taking sharp turns, and it also happened while doing stunts.

I saved the best for the last- Mortal Kombat X, one of the most visually pleasing and resource intensive games out there. The gameplay was smooth, but what annoyed me the most was how the game’s native aspect ratio was stretched out to fill out the Realme 2 Pro’s tall 19:9 display.

The Realme 2 Pro offers a native full-screen mode for gaming and media consumption, which uniformly covers the area adjacent to the teardrop notch with a bar for a uniform look. But there was some anomaly. In case of PUBG, when the full-screen mode was not enabled, the notch covered half of the shoot button, however, the issue was resolved when I applied the full-screen mode.

Another sore point was the curved bottom bezel, which covers some UI elements while playing a game. For example, in the case of PUBG, the rounded bottom bezel covered a significant portion of the ‘X’ button used to go back to the previous screen, and as a result, it was a minor hassle to tap it precisely every time.

While the device definitely did get hot, it did not get heat up enough to the level of getting uncomfortable. Interestingly, when the protective cover is applied, the temperature only rose by around 4-degrees, and there was minimal to no effect of the higher temperature on the in-hand experience.

UI optimization flaws aside, the Realme 2 Pro handled all games we tested decently well. So, if you’ve been planning to buy the Realme 2 Pro and were in doubt regarding its gaming prowess, you can rest assured that the device will handle all games you throw at it with ease.

Buy Realme 2 Pro from Flipkart: (starting at Rs. 13,990)

Pbl And Standardized Tests? It Can Work!

Whether through yearly course assessments, six-week benchmark exams, or state-level competency tests, teachers and students are inundated with testing. Because of the way that testing permeates education culture, I often hear pushback from teachers about implementing project-based learning (PBL). The question I often hear is: “How does PBL work with standardized tests?”

Here are some tips and responses related to this question.

Research Shows Positive Results

PBL and success on standardized tests are not mutually exclusive. Research has shown that students do as well or better on these high-stakes assessments when PBL is the method of instruction, in addition to its many other benefits.

Lucas Education Research has done a lot of work investigating AP course design through PBL projects, and has examples of how to structure an AP course with PBL. Research through the Knowledge in Action project shows that looping—revisiting key concepts—and creating engagement with PBL allows for deeper learning to occur.

These positive results show that PBL can work with high-stakes courses and exams that cover a breadth of knowledge.

Target What Matters Most

Teachers should examine their exams to uncover the big ideas and points that are often assessed, and then make sure PBL projects target those standards or learning outcomes.

If you know that a specific book or genre is targeted in the AP English Literature exam, use a PBL project to go in depth on that content. If you know that linear equations are tested the most often or weighted more in the state test, use PBL to ensure that students walk away not only knowing linear equations inside and out but being able to think critically about them and to make relevant connections. If something isn’t priority learning, address it through a different method.

Some of us have to deal with testing more frequently than others. Work within the structures you have if you want to find an opportune time for a deep dive into a PBL project.

“I’ll wait till after testing season” is a frequently used excuse, and I know where it comes from: the pressure. But waiting till after testing season defeats the purpose of PBL. PBL’s intent is to drive new learning, to engage students in learning critical content that is leveraged and tested.

I’m not saying, “Don’t do PBL after testing”—I’m saying that if you truly want to leverage PBL and capitalize on its strengths, you need to use it to teach content that will be on the test. PBL is about learning that sticks, which is exactly what students need when they’re facing high-stakes tests.

Embed Test Stems and Questions in the PBL Project

Standardized test preparation need not go out the window when you’re doing PBL—it can be embedded effectively into the PBL itself. When you create PBL projects, you should look at related test questions and either use them in the project or use the stems to create new ones.

For example, I might draw from a sample exam to create reading standard stems for a particular fiction or nonfiction text we’re reading. Although they’re not an exciting form of assessment, such stems can serve as excellent formative assessments for student learning. They can also let students experience aspects of the test, and then the test won’t be scary or seem unfamiliar when they come to it.

Are We Asking the Wrong Question?

In focusing of the issue of PBL and standardized tests, we may be passing over some important questions. Why are standardized assessments the key focus of determining student success? Are we measuring and assessing what really matters?

As I read a recent article entitled “Project-Based Learning and Standardized Tests Don’t Mix,” I realized that policy makers might be operating under the assumption that standardized tests are the best way to measure student learning. What if we instead had assessments that mattered, such as performance tasks that measured deep learning and the ability to apply learning in new contexts?

In Leading Modern Learning, Jay McTighe and Greg Curwin articulate the need for such assessment systems. These systems would include projects and performance tasks called cornerstone tasks that aligned to long-term “transfer goals” both within and across disciplines. Transfer goals relate to the ability to apply lessons in new situations (like the ability to apply knowledge of history to a contemporary context, for example).

Many districts and schools have embarked on a journey to create these meaningful, deep assessments—take a look at DC Public Schools, for example. Instead of getting stuck trying to reconcile competing forces, I see an opportunity to re-evaluate how we assess student learning at the systemic level.

While there’s still much to learn about PBL’s impact on standardized tests, there are many promising practices and research studies that show they can live together. We have to be mindful and intentional when we implement PBL in our classes to ensure success. However, we also know that success beyond test results is why we teach.

Instagram Tests Bereal Clone ‘Candid Challenges’

Instagram confirms it’s testing a new photo-centric feature called Candid Challenges, which shares similarities with the increasingly popular app BeReal.

App researcher Alessandro Paluzzi uncovered Candid Challenges, a feature that encourages users to share a selfie every day at a random time.

#Instagram is working on IG Candid Challenges, a feature inspired by @BeReal_App 👀

— Alessandro Paluzzi (@alex193a) August 22, 2023

Candid Challenges exclusively uses Instagram’s dual camera capability, which captures a photo with the front and rear lenses at the same time.

— Alessandro Paluzzi (@alex193a) August 22, 2023

Combining random photos and dual camera mode is a concept that the entire BeReal app is built around.

The idea is for people to create an authentic snapshot of where they are and what they’re doing at a given moment, hence the name “Be Real.”

Launched in 2023, BeReal hit the number one spot in Apple’s App Store in July 2023 and has been downloaded 28 million times.

BeReal has 21.6 million monthly active users, and 2.93 million access the app daily.

Given the rapid growth of BeReal, it’s not surprising that more established apps are starting to mimic its features.

We don’t know how far into the development phase Candid Challenges is or when it may launch, but Instagram confirms to Engadget it’s in testing as an “internal prototype.”

That means only people within the company can access it, unlike a live test with regular users.

It’s interesting to learn Instagram is developing new capabilities built around sharing photos after recently vowing to go all-in on video.

However, Instagram’s shift to video isn’t getting a warm reception from users, with high-profile influencers clamoring for the app to return to its roots.

Adam Mosseri, Head of Instagram, confesses that the company has leaned “too far” into video recently.

— Matt Navarra (@MattNavarra) August 19, 2023

Candid Challenges could be Instagram’s way of trying to quell the criticism around too much video while also trying to stay relevant with younger generations.

Heralded as Gen Z’s favorite app, BeReal is building a user base by developing a way for people to share authentic content with friends.

Another sticking point with users is Instagram’s propensity to surface content from accounts users don’t follow. People want to see more content from their friends, family, and favorite brands.

BeReal offers an experience that’s in stark contrast with Instagram.

Now, as it has done many times, Instagram is cloning features from a fledgling social media app that’s capturing the attention of today’s youth.

First came stories, which was cloned from Snapchat. Then came Reels, which was cloned from TikTok. Soon we’ll have Candid Challenges, cloned from BeReal.

Sources: Business of Apps, Engadget, The Guardian

Featured Image: mundissima/Shutterstock

Supply Chain Management 2023: How Logistics Can Navigate Speed Bumps

While supply chain issues take the blame for product shortages and rising prices across diverse markets, three underlying issues hold the key to bringing overall supply and demand back into balance.

The supply chain is all about transportation and logistics — getting materials and products from the source, to the next stage of production and so on, until they reach the customer. And now that production is ramping up to meet demand, logistics is often the most compelling problem. These are three key issues to monitor in 2023:

Issue 1: The workforce/talent shortage

Media outlets have highlighted the backups at major ports, as cargo ships crowd the entrances to harbors and rows upon rows of containers line up in the storage yards. Demand is at an all-time high, so the shipping volume is up. But the real bottleneck is a shortage of truck drivers and dock workers to offload the containers, put them onto trucks and rail cars and deliver them to factories, warehouses and retailers.

Many people who were furloughed during the early pandemic shutdowns have retired, changed fields or decided not to re-enter the workforce for a variety of other reasons. Now as the economy recovers, companies have been unable to restaff adequately to meet high consumer demand.

So what does a technology solution that cost-effectively delivers results to the trucking company, while simultaneously enabling drivers to efficiently do their jobs, look like? It starts with modernizing the entire hardware and software experience — starting with Samsung devices, providing a single, ruggedized tablet where drivers can intuitively record and manage their job tasks and activities through a familiar, unified interface.

Issue 2: More demand than supply

Today’s supply chain is challenged by unusually high demand; nobody expected consumer demand to recover so quickly and dramatically. Higher demand for goods increases the need for workers, but the supply of workers remains stagnant, according to the latest Job Opens and Labor Transfer Survey. Factories are restarting production as quickly as they can in the face of this shortage.

With a few notable exceptions, such as computer chips, it’s the realities of supply chain logistics that are at the center of the supply shortages. More goods are trying to move through the supply chain, while facilities and resources remain bogged down in mid-pandemic lows. While transportation providers, ports, warehouses and supporting service providers are restaffing as quickly as they can, they’re unlikely to meet demand anytime soon, so the backlog continues to grow.

The definitive guide to warehouse efficiency

White Paper

Get your free guide to increasing warehouse efficiencies and cutting costs with mobile processes. Download Now

The quickest solution, which also happens to be the best long-term solution, is to increase the pace of automation with self-driving trucks, automated warehouses and goods-handling systems and workflow automation — achieving more throughput with existing resources. The “last mile” of a digital workflow is putting mobile devices in the hands of frontline employees. Even the best scheduling and dispatching system is only effective when workers are tied into the latest plan and direction. Mobile devices are also a critical part of the automated tracking and simplified reporting that keep the workflow system and its recommendations up to date for real-time, close-loop operations.

Issue 3: No time to waste

Disruptions in the supply chain won’t lead to reduced demand. In fact, availability issues often increase demand, as consumers make larger purchases to stockpile items rather than be caught short later. The supply-demand imbalance probably won’t fix itself anytime soon. Companies up and down the supply chain must address staffing, efficiency and throughput issues as soon as possible, with effective short-term solutions that can deliver long-term benefits.

Getting more value from each employee is paramount as well. Again, technology can help enable this. Samsung tablets are highly rated by fleet drivers. Why such a positive response? Samsung tablets are among the most intuitive, secure, rugged devices offered today, designed to enable mobile workers just like long-haul drivers.

Because drivers are able to quickly and easily operate and gain value from Samsung Connected Fleet Solutions, trucking companies can forego off-putting, arcane training programs and their associated costs.

Of course, companies must still maintain their efforts to recruit new team members, and competition will remain strong as the supply of available labor remains steady. These new workers should have little fear of being laid off due to increased automation. Current demand may be high compared to 2023, but the market is just returning to pre-pandemic levels. When the disruption is finally behind us, the economy as a whole should return to its historic growth rate — and increased automation will help the newly restored workforce address that growth sustainably.

Find more ways you can increase warehouse efficiencies and cut costs with mobile processes in our free guide. And explore how Samsung’s full range of versatile transportation solutions can improve efficiency and empower your workforce.

Cooler Master Mm731 Mouse Review – Ultra Lightweight But Solid Performance

Cooler Master MM731 Gaming Mouse

Sensor

Pixart PAW3370

DPI

19,000

Weight

59g/2.08oz

Size (H x W x D)

122.3 x 69.0 x 39.1MM

Buttons

6

How We Review Hands-on Review

Shop on Amazon

Check Price

PROS

Impressively lightweight

Attractive minimalist design

Reliable wireless performance

CONS

Less-than-premium materials

Expensive

Tech Specs

Sensor

Pixart PAW3370

DPI

19,000

Weight

59g/2.08oz

Size (H x W x D)

122.3 x 69.0 x 39.1MM

Buttons

6

Software

MasterPlus+

Feet

PTFE

Grip

Palm/claw

Battery

500mAh

Materials

ABS

Connectivity

2.4GHz, Bluetooth 5.2, USB type-C

Unboxing & setup

The mouse comes packaged in a utilitarian box with no bells or whistles, just enough packing materials to keep the mouse safe during its travels. The setup is a simple and uncomplicated affair with it lighting up as soon as you plug it in. The wireless functionalities are enabled via the switch on the underside of the mouse and are equally easy to operate. It’s worth noting that the pairing button must be held down for the mouse to become discoverable on your device of choice. It’s not necessary to download the Cooler Master MasterPlus+ software suite to use the MM731, but it’s recommended in order to get the most out of it.

Design

The word ‘innocuous’ comes to mind. The MM731 is devoid of sharp angles and aggressive lines and instead favors smooth ergonomics and an understated color scheme. It strongly resembles the venerable G-Pro from Logitech. We were provided with the matte black version, but a minimalist white version is available too. There is a refreshingly restrained implementation of RGB lighting present here, taking the form of the soft hexagon of Cooler Master’s logo, without the name of the company within. The hexagon entirely disappears when the lighting isn’t active. 

Taking a look at the underside you’ll find a small switch to flip between wired, 2.4GHz, and Bluetooth connectivity. Alongside this, there is a pairing button and a button to cycle through DPI presets. The decision to locate a button to improve gameplay performance on the underside of the mouse is unintuitive and inconvenient. There is no obvious reason why Cooler Master couldn’t have positioned it between the mouse buttons as other manufactures like Corsair and Razer usually do.

Overall, though, the design is smart and professional. It will blend into any setup with ease and will sit on your desk incognito until the lighting activates. Cooler Master has taken no chances with the design here and there’s nothing to criticize about the aesthetic.

Build quality

The mouse is impressively sturdy given its weight or lack thereof. The materials feel decent but more is expected given the price, and while they exhibit very little flex, the sides do bend inwards under unrealistically extreme pressure. Under normal gaming conditions, you can be confident that the materials will hold up. The cable has very soft, robust-feeling fabric shrouding that creates so little friction that it’s easy to forget that this mouse isn’t wireless.

Ergonomics

This mouse is designed for both claw-users and palm users, though it favors a palm grip as the lower right-hand side of the mouse extends slightly too far out for ideal pinky finger placement. It’s not uncomfortable by any means, but if you’re a picky claw user, this mouse isn’t for you. 

Performance

The mouse was tested in 2.4GHz, Bluetooth, and wired modes. No perceptible lagging or loss of signal occurred in any of them, although top-tier pro gamers may still prefer wired mode. The mouse wheel smoothly slots back and forth which allows for precise usage in gaming – you’ll be hard-pressed to switch past the intended weapon selection with this wheel. The rubber-textured cover over the mouse wheel could benefit from being more robustly attached to the wheel itself as we found that it was easy for your finger to roll the rubber cover around the wheel, instead of actuating it.

Software

Final verdict

The MM731 is a strong contender for the hybrid wired/wireless gaming mouse market. It boasts a minimal, professional design that belies a killer sensor and impressive wireless capabilities. The mouse is designed to accommodate users of all grip types and given the minute weight of just 59g, packing all these features in is an impressive feat of design and engineering.

Update the detailed information about Hostgator Review 2023: Performance And Speed Tests on the Cancandonuts.com website. We hope the article's content will meet your needs, and we will regularly update the information to provide you with the fastest and most accurate information. Have a great day!